

Town of Mineral
Post Office Box 316
312 Mineral Avenue
Mineral, VA 23117
Phone 540-894-5100 Fax 540-894-4446
www.townofmineral.com email:
clerk treasurer@townofmineral.net

Pam Harlowe, Mayor Tommy Runnett, Vice-Mayor Ed Jarvis Edward Kube Roy McGeHee David Lawson Willie Harper, Interim Town Manager Andrea Erard, Town Attorney Town Council meets for its regular session on the second Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. Persons wishing to be heard or having an item to be placed on the agenda should make their request to the Clerk of Council by the final Monday of the month preceding the meeting.

TOWN OF MINERAL TOWN COUNCIL MEETING

MINUTES

Monday, July 11, 2022 7:00 PM

COUNCIL MEMBERS: Mayor Pam Harlowe, Vice Mayor Tommy Runnett, Edwin Jarvis, Roy

McGeHee, David Lawson, Edward Kube

STAFF MEMBERS: Lisa Yates; Town Clerk/Treasurer

TELECONFERENCE: Andrea Erard; Town Attorney

PUBLIC: Blair Nipper, Chris Guerre, Rebecca McGehee, Ron Chapman, Tony Henshaw

ABSENT:

Town of Mineral Council Meeting

Mayor Pam Harlowe called the meeting to order with the Pledge of Allegiance.

Approval of July 2022 Agenda:

Motion was made by Councilman Jarvis to approve the agenda as amended seconded by Councilman Runnett motion passed unanimously

Tommy Runnett – yes

Ed Jarvis- yes David Lawson - yes

Ed Kube- yes Roy McGehee – yes

Approval of June 13, 2022 Council Meeting Minutes:

Motion was made by Councilman McGehee to approve the June 13, 2022 Council meeting minutes as amended, seconded by Councilman Jarvis. Motion passed with a 3-0-2 vote.

Tommy Runnett - abstain

Ed Jarvis- yes David Lawson - yes

Ed Kube- abstain Roy McGehee – yes

Approval of June 23, 2022 Council Meeting Minutes:

Motion was made by Councilman Jarvis to approve the June 23, 2022 Council meeting minutes, seconded by Councilman McGehee. Motion passed unanimously

Tommy Runnett – yes

Ed Jarvis- yes David Lawson - yes

Ed Kube- yes Roy McGehee – yes

Approval of Bills to be Paid:

Motion was made by Councilman Lawson to approve the July 2022 bills to be paid, seconded by Councilman Jarvis. Motion passed with a unanimous vote.

Tommy Runnett – yes

Ed Jarvis- yes David Lawson - yes

Ed Kube- yes Roy McGehee – yes

Auditor Committee Report. No report

Beautification/Anti-Litter Committee. No report

Building Committee: no report

Budget and Finance Committee: no report

Cemetery Committee. no report

Communication Committee: no report

Economic Development Committee: no report

Personnel Committee: no report

Planning Commission report: no report

Police and Legal Matters Committee: no report

Streets Committee report: no report

Water and Sewer Committee: no report

Motion was made by Councilman McGehee to accept the resignation of Councilman Tony Henshaw, seconded by Councilman Lawson. Motion passed with a 4-1-0 vote.

Tommy Runnett – yes

Ed Jarvis- no David Lawson - yes

Ed Kube- yes Roy McGehee – yes

Motion was made by Councilman Jarvis to appoint Catherine Nipper to fill the position of Councilman Tony Henshaw, seconded by Councilman Runnett. Motion passed with a 3-2-0 vote.

Tommy Runnett – yes

Ed Jarvis- yes David Lawson - no

Ed Kube- yes Roy McGehee – no

Motion was made by Councilman Jarvis to reduce the tax rate for the budget from .24 to .22, seconded by Councilman Lawson. Motion passed unanimously.

Tommy Runnett – yes

Ed Jarvis- yes David Lawson - yes

Ed Kube- yes Roy McGehee – yes

Motion was made by Councilman McGehee to keep the water/sewer rates as they are, seconded by Councilman Lawson. Motion passed with a 3-1-1.

Tommy Runnett – yes

Ed Jarvis- abstain David Lawson - yes

Ed Kube- no Roy McGehee – yes

Motion was made by Councilman Runnett to adjourn the meeting. Seconded by Councilman McGehee. Motion passed with a unanimous vote.

Tommy Runnett – yes

Ed Jarvis- yes David Lawson - yes

Ed Kube- yes Roy McGehee – yes